Categories

Category Listing

loader  Loading... Please wait...
Acratech
acratech
Need Assistance? 1-909-392-7522
Menu

Categories

Category Listing

Join Our Newsletter


Reviews

 Marco Bertazzoni

5/9/2019

Is the best head-ball you can find on the market!!!

 Erik Stensland

I've been using Acratech ballheads for many years now. I'm a professional landscape photographer and have put these ballheads through just about everything you can imagine from desert sand and ocean salt to hard use and abuse in the mountains of Colorado where I primarily live and work. These things take a beating and when I've eventually given them such a beating that they need some help, the great folks at Acratech fix them for free! I couldn't be happier with the products they offer or the service they provide!

 Joan Day

Awesome company. Awesome heads! My camera has never been more secure. Great quality workmanship.

 Shoreline Pixels

Acratech is Awesome! Wonderful Customer Service, attention to detail, and prompt delivery. The best part is that they'll actually listen and act if you've got an identified need.No Pro camera bag should be without!

 Victor Bellehumeur

Fabulous company to do business with. I have numerous items purchased from them, one of which is their universal L bracket. I wanted to adapt it to a technical camera that I have and needed a shorter bolt which they had machined while talking to me on the phone. Great customer service.

 Wal (Walter Mehmke )

Acratech make a very good product.
Acratech make a very good product. I purchased the L bracket that I can move from one Camera to the next easily. Works great would highly recommend the L bracket.

 Eric

Well engineered. High quality. It works! 
Well engineered. Finely machined. A perfect mate for my Acratech GP ballhead. Adds some weight and height to your tripod but very stable. I appreciate the high quality. Why trust your expensive gear to anything less.

 Peng Sun

You like it! Great!

 Luca Benini

Quality and design at the top! Soon we will start to try them on the field but I already know they won't disappoint us!

 Graham Twomey

I have been using an Acratech head for about 8 years now. The same one! Never failed me! For some reason I thought I wanted a Really Right Stuff head. Bought one used it for a month. Back to my 8 year old Acratech! The RRS was very well built but much heavier and the tightening knob kept getting in the way. I will never doubt Acratech again. Thank you for making such a fine product!

 Robert Jensen

I was using an Arca-Swiss, Benro snd Induro ball heads on my tripods and Kirk Lowpod. I recently purchased the Acratech GP and it instantly became my favorite...great range of motion, locks tight, and looks like something Jules Verne would have created...the only ball head for Steampunk events! I like it so much I plan on getting another one!

 Bruce Davis

AWSOME company to deal with... Thanks Scott for producing such outstanding products..

 Bob Orso

3/11/2019

Awesome company! Excellent photographic equipment! Fantastic team working behind the scenes! Amazing quality and craftspersonship!!! Thank you Acratech!!! ...and, your website and information videos are top-notch! I love the Acratech team because they design the best photo products available!!!

 Matthew Farris

2/14/2019

I have two Acratech ball heads, a GP and a GPSS. I had a third one but when I sold a tripod the buyer insisted I sell him the Acratech ball head as well.

After using them for over 6 years, I wouldn't own a different ballhead. I have also convinced several of my students and fellow photographers to buy these ballheads. I honestly can't say enough good things about them!

Peter Zelinka

I've been using my Acratech GP ballhead for just about 4 years now. This is the first and only
ballhead I've ever purchased and I'm very satisfied!


While the initial cost might be steep, the quality and customer service are well worth it!


I was having an issue with the ballhead where a heavy lens would cause the ballhead to move down
slightly, even after locking all the knobs down. Acratech's customer service rep quickly responded to
my email, and my ballhead was repaired within 1 day! Not only did they fix the problem, they also
completely overhauled the ballhead and installed some of their latest tech! (All for free too, I just paid
for shipping)


No matter what conditions I shot in, the GP Ballhead held its own! Between the 10 year warranty,
great customer service, and quality product, I'm glad I went with Acratech! 

 

Joe Edelman - I Shoot People

Tripods, monopods and Ball Heads video.  Benro and Acratech are a perfect combo. 11/19/2017 

 

Mike Moats Macro Photographer 

This award winning macro photographer gives you his honest opinion on why he likes our "Ultimate Ballhead" for his macro photography. Check out his site for some terrific tutorial and awesome macro landscapes.

09/27/2017

 

 

Ballhead comparison and review by True Load September 30, 2017

An independent review comparing our GPs and the BH55 and BH 40.

 

Nomad Review by

TECHNICAL EDITOR
Jack Neubarth

12/1/2016

An in-depth review of our Nomad Ball Head by one of the best photo technical writers in our industry.  Jack has over 35 years of experience, working for many photo publications and he maintains his own blog called Pixelperfexion

 

Night Photography Workshop Review

by Mike Berenson

 

Product Review: Ultimate Ballhead

By Brian at Industry Outsider

 

December 3, 2015

 

The Ultimate was the first Ball Head to come off our production line, so we're always thrilled when we hear how much our customers continue to love this product (not to mention how much use and abuse an old unit has taken over the years while still functioning wonderfully).

 

"Having used this head with both the Canon 100-400 and Sigma 150-600 lenses, I found it helps keep my camera steady, for sharp images. Back in the studio, I can shoot products under continuous lighting, with exposures close to a second, knowing there will be no camera shake. And I really like the open design, as it’s nice to know that if I do venture out in bad weather, it’s not going to fail on me, and will take more abuse than my cameras and lenses can."


Read the rest of Brian's review at: 

http://www.industryoutsider.com/acratech-ultimate-ballhead/

 

 

 

Acratech GP Ball Head named “Best Overall” by DP Review

April 7, 2015 

Anyone on the fence about the GP will love this review, which is heavy on details about the smoothness of its controls, its performance under heavy weight, and its overall versatility - you've heard it from us and others for years, now yet another independent source has confirmed it!

Check out their full review of the GP here:

http://www.dpreview.com/articles/7734995233/mid-sized-ball-heads-tested/2

 

 

Product Review: Acratech GP Ball Head,
Lever Clamp and Swift Release

By Marla Meier

I am completely impressed with the first-class quality of construction, full features, lightweight, stability, ease of use, and functionality of the Acratech GP ballhead and clamps.

With the added benefits of panoramic and Gimbal head capabilities, the GP ballhead is truly an innovative and well-designed precision product that I would recommend to all photographers. 

Read the full review at:

http://www.apogeephoto.com/sept2014/product-review-acratech-GP-ballhead-lever-clamp-and-swift-release.shtml

 

  

Theano Nikitas @ Photo.net

The Acratech GP ballhead is, by far, the best ballhead I’ve ever used. It has gotten me through two NY Fashion Weeks and countless other shoots, but has been most vital during Fashion Week.

Visit Photo.net

 

 

Acratech Long Lens Tripod Head: The lightest way to use a long lens in the field

 

There is no substitute for the image quality from a pro-quality long lens when shooting wildlife or sports. Their high-quality images and fast focus speed come at a high cost in both dollars and weight, unfortunately. Adding to the weight is the need for specialized tripod heads. Conventional ballheads are seriously painful to use with long lenses, falling off to one side or the other just at the wrong time. Until now, replacement solutions have been both expensive and heavy. Whether you like the traditional , the newer Mongoose, the nerdy Really Right Stuff offering, or even the cut down , you’re looking at a minimum of 2 pounds and several hundred dollars (the Sidekick is the cheapest and lightest, but requires that you also bring and use a sturdy ballhead). Enter the new Acratech Long Lens Head.

 Cardinal Photo Review of the Long Lens Head

 

Arthur H. Bleich, editor at Rangefinder

...photographers have not only been beating down his door, but they have encouraged him to expand his line. Today, a dozen or so master machinists at Acratech—many of whom are avid photographers—produce products with such precision and care that the company has become known as the “go-to” for lightweight, fail-proof gear.

 

Shooting Panoramas with Acratech's Equipment

Shooting Panoramas is a lot of fun and with the correct equipment can be easy to do. See this site for more information on how to get started.

 

Lightroom Diva: September 2009

"All of Acratech’s products are well-made and thoughtfully designed, and well worth the investment for attaching your camera and lens when you are not holding them in your hands!"

 

Two Sturdy Light-Weight Tripod Heads

By Joe and Mary McDonald

On our recent Arizona High Speed Flash Photography Shoot Mary and I had a chance to try two new tripod heads, both offered by Acratech, Inc. If memory serves me, the owner/inventor of the Acratech tripod heads is a backpacker who was frustrated with the size and weight of available tripod heads, and being an inventive guy he designed and built his own!

Denton Images

For the past decade Acratech has built a solid reputation for building strong, lightweight and innovative products. Their latest ball head, the GP, takes the innovation part beyond just about any other ball head on the market today. Like other ball heads in its price range it is fully featured, complete with independent locking, panning and friction controls. It weighs less than 1 lb, yet easily holds 25lbs at any angle according to the manufacturer.

 

PDN Gear Guide

With so many ballheads on the market, it’s hard to know which one to choose. Specs are usually minimal (load-bearing capabilities, weight, lens mounting plate) and, of course, price. The attributes that are equally, if not more, important though are the smoothness with which the ballhead moves and the ability of the device to lock into position and not “creep.”

Some ballheads, like the Acratech GP Ballhead, have attributes that go above and beyond many of its competitors, including the ability to be mounted upside down and used as a leveling base for panoramas.

 

BestCovery

The Acratech GP Ballhead looks like a very precise and futuristic device. This is the ideal ballhead for telephoto lenses as it supports up to 25 lbs. Because of it's unique ballhead mechanism the Acratech GP is ideal for panoramic photos as it allows you to pan the camera parallel to the horizon. This head has all the features that our other top choices have, but this one is the most precise of the bunch.

Bestcovery

Visit BestCovery

 

Outdoor Photographer magazine, August 2001

"Ballheads are a luxurious landscape essential. Acratech's new Ultimate ballhead weighs less than a pound ans can support more than 25 pounds. The unique design features an exposed ball that's locked down with an angled clamp. It may look unorthodox but it works like a charm. And if you are concerned about dust, sand, grit or other contaminants, the open structure alleviates any potential problems. The head is compatible with quick release plates from several manufactures."

Visit Outdoor Photographer online

 

Shutterbug Magazine, January 2002

Article by Bob Shell

"Since weight is always a problem when working in the field , every once saved is a benefit. But he has sacrificed nothing it the process of reducing weight. The head is very sturdy and exceptionally smooth in its operation."

Visit Shutterbug online

 

Reviews Around the Web

 

What our Customers Say

  • "I've had this ballhead for 10-11 years. I don't baby my gear as my end goal is the photos and if the gear has to take a hit to get them, so be it. This ballhead has been on 6 continents, strapped to a snow machine for 6 months in Antarctica, tossed around for a month in the back of a Russian jeep in Asia. And, it worked then and now, the same as when I bought it!" - B.C.

  • "I am not sponsored by Acratech. I had to pay for this ball head the same as anyone else. And if I give up my hard earned money, I want the product to work. I can say without reservation that this is some of the best money I have ever spent. I exclusively use the Acratech head in the field and am very glad I tried it." - Scott Bourne

  • "This is a terrific piece of equipment." - T.P.

  • "Remarkable: beautifully crafted and rock steady and incredibly light." - B.W.

  • "It is everything it is reputed to be- silky smooth, light, rock solid and a work of art." - N.S.

  • "Thanks for the great support. It's the way to do business, and I appreciate it!" - J.L.

  • "I truly prefer your ballhead to any I have used including the Arca B1 which seems to be the standard to compare against." - B.W.S.

  • "It is here. It is beautiful. It just feels so good in hand, rather like my Leica." - E.H.

  • "I showed this to a few guys at work they were staggered. This really is impressive." - B.H.

  • "The rubberized knob I just received makes a great product even better. I currently have several other ballheads and am I selling them all. They do not compare to the Ultimate Ballhead. The more I use it the more it exceeds my expectations." - S.C.
 
 
 

 

 

 



Acratech Inc
2502 Supply St
Pomona, California 91767
United States
909-392-7522
creditcard

social-iconsocial-icon social-icon social-icon social-icon social-iconsocial-icon